Spain « The last Iberian Lynx »

April 20, 2013

In April 2013 we were following the “Tracks of the Last Iberian Lynx” in the Guadalquivir Delta (South of Spain).


It is a distinct specie from the Boreal Lynx of our regions. The last populations are living in the remote mountains of the Sierra Morena, and the region of “Coto Donana” in South-West of Spain. Efforts of protection are done since several years, but the specie is still in critical danger of extinction on the IUCN list. This is one of the most endangered mammals in the world. The marshes of Donana are also one of the top European destination for bird-watching, and we were able there to photograph a lot of birds (herons, egrets, ibis, purple swanphen, white-headed duck, eagles, storks, flamingoes …).


April is the period when the Lynx are giving birth to their new ones. So it is also one of the moments of the year when they are very shy, and the specie is even more difficult to find at this time. After three weeks of expectation, our efforts were rewarded.


Some of our pictures from Spain are exposed in “GALERIE DU LION” in Orléans (France), from June 20th to August 17th, 2014. The title of this Exhibition is “Between Sky and Earth”, and we are exposing with three other famous photographers : Tony Crocetta, Jean-Claude Picard et Nicolas Lesnartowski.



Return to events

Espagne « Les derniers Lynx Ibériques »

20 avril 2013

En Avril 2013, nous sommes partis « Sur les traces des derniers Lynx Ibériques » dans le Delta du Guadalquivir (Sud de l’Espagne).


Il s’agit d’une espèce distincte du Lynx Boréal de nos régions, dont la population résiduelle occupe les zones montagneuses reculées de la Sierra Morena, et la région du Coto Donana au Sud-Ouest de l’Espagne. Des efforts de protection sont entrepris depuis plusieurs années, mais l’espèce est toujours classée par l’IUCN dans la catégorie des animaux en danger critique d’extinction, en faisant l’un des mammifères les plus menacés au monde. Les Marismas de Donana sont aussi l’un des hauts lieux de l’ornithologie en Europe, où nous avons rencontré une avifaune très riche (hérons, aigrettes, ibis, talèves sultanes, érismatures, aigles, cigognes, flamants …).


Le mois d’Avril est la période de naissance des jeunes Lynx Ibériques. C’est donc aussi l’un des moments de l’année où les déplacements se font plus discrets, et l’espèce est encore plus difficile à observer à cette époque. Après trois semaines de prospections et de recherches quotidiennes, nos efforts étaient enfin récompensés.


Une partie de ces photos sur les Grands Deltas du Sud de l’Europe, sont exposées à la GALERIE DU LION d’ORLEANS (45000 – France), du 20 JUIN au 17 AOUT 2014. L’Exposition s’intitule « Entre Ciel et Terre », et nous exposons en compagnie de trois autres photographes de renom : Tony Crocetta, Jean-Claude Picard et Nicolas Lesnartowski.


Revenir aux événements